Things to Do in Devon

Languages

Close By

In Nord-Devon gibt es eine Fülle von Ausflugsmöglichkeiten. Atemberaubende Küstenstriche und schroffes Hochland oder wundervolle Sandstrände und versteckte Buchten laden Sie und Ihre Kinder dazu ein, die Gegend zu erkunden. Lassen Sie sich auch von der preisgekrönten lokalen Küche verwöhnen, und dank ausgezeichneter Attraktionen und zahlreicher Freizeitaktivitäten kommt die ganze Familie voll auf ihre Kosten.

Hier einige Beispiele für lokale Attraktionen und Freizeitmöglichkeiten:

Dunsdon National Nature Reserve (angrenzend)

Dunsdon umfasst vermutlich das bedeutendste Beispiel in ganz England für die in Devon als „Culm Grassland“ bezeichnete Art von Weideland. „Culm“ ist eine sumpfige, heideartige Vegetation über den Schiefer- und Sandsteinschichten der sogenannten „Culm Measures“ in Nordwest-Devon. Das Gebiet ist Heimat einer äußerst vielseitigen Flora und Fauna – oftmals extrem reich an Wildblumen und verschiedenen Arten wild lebender Tiere – und daher bestens geeignet für eine Naturwanderung.

www.devonwildlifetrust.org

Bude Canal

Der Bude Canal verläuft nicht weit von Dunsdon und bietet ausgezeichnete Wandermöglichkeiten bis zu den Tamar-Seen.
www.bude-canal-trust.co.uk

The Alpaca Park (Ashwater 11miles)

Address: Hope Farm, Beaworthy, EX21 5DL, Tel: 01409 220 216
The Alpaca Park is set in 100 acres of beautiful Devon countryside where visitors have the opportunity to observe these endearing creatures up close and personal. Watch as they graze, laze or play together in their herds.
www.thealpacapark.com

Ruby Trail (Holsworthy 11 miles)

Das Ruby Country ist eine herrliche, friedliche, saubere und unberührte Gegend im Herzen von Devon. Sie wird von Dartmoor, Exmoor und der Nordküste von Devon und Cornwall umgeben und ist ideal für einen märchenhaften und entspannenden Aufenthalt im englischen West Country.
Der Ruby Trail ist ein Wanderweg, der durch viele Dörfer und Weiler rund um die beiden Marktstädte Holsworthy und Hatherleigh und in weiten Teilen entlang der alten, stillgelegten Bahnlinie führt.

www.ridetherubycountry.co.uk

Tamar Lakes (Bradworthy 2 ½ miles)

Am oberen Tamar-See (Upper Tamar) liegt ein brandneues Wassersportzentrum mit Möglichkeiten zum Segeln, Windsurfen und Kajakfahren, einem Café und einem beliebten 5 km langen Spazierweg am See entlang.
Der untere Tamar-See (Lower Tamar) ist viel kleiner, mit einigen leicht zu begehenden Wegen. Hier leben zahlreiche Wasservögel, weshalb er hauptsächlich als Naturschutzgebiet dient. Es gibt eine öffentliche Vogelbeobachtungsstelle sowie mehrere Picknickbänke.

www.swlakestrust.org.uk

Cookworthy Forest (Holsworthy 11miles)

Cookworthy Forest ist eine beeindruckende Nadelbaumbepflanzung inmitten der sanften Hügellandschaft von West-Devon zwischen Okehampton und Bude mit Zugang zum Ruby Trail. Ideal zum Wandern und Erforschen und mit einem stattlichen keltischen Rundhaus.
www.forestry.gov.uk

The Big Sheep (Bideford 23 miles)

The Big Sheep ist einer der besten Freizeitparks in Nord-Devon mit Schafsrennen, Animatronic Chicken-Show, Pferdeflüstern, Ewetopia Indoor-Spielplatz, Battlefield Live, Mountainboarding und vielem mehr! Ein toller Spaß für die ganze Familie.
www.thebigsheep.co.uk

New Mills Farm Park (Launceston 21 miles)

New Mills Farm Park ist eine riesige Kinderspielwiese auf einem Bauernhof und ideal für einen preiswerten Familienausflug, der insbesondere kleine Kinder begeistert. Die Anfahrt erfolgt mit dem Auto oder einem Dampfzug! (Der Dampfzug wird von einem separaten Unternehmen betrieben, das eigene Gebühren erhebt.) Mit Tieren und Spielspaß drinnen und draußen.
www.newmillsfarmpark.com

“Dunsdon Farm ist ein großartiger Ausgangsort für viele Unternehmungen, Ausflüge und Wanderungen in Nord-Devon im Südwesten Englands.”
Sharon and Steve Hampton June 2015.

Things to Do in Devon

Close By

With so much to choose from in North Devon, from the fantastic sandy beaches and hidden coves that will entice you and the children to explore, while dramatic coastlines and rugged uplands will take your breath away. The award winning local food and drink will tempt you, and the family activities and great local attractions will keep all of you entertained from dawn to dusk.

A few of the local attractions and activities are listed below:

Dunsdon National Nature Reserve (Adjoining)

Dunsdon contains probably the single most important example in England of a type of pasture known locally as Culm grassland. Culm grassland is a marshy, heathy vegetation that occurs over the slates and shales of the Culm Measures across north western Devon. It is a very diverse wildlife habitat, often extremely rich in wild flowers and supporting an immense range of other wildlife. Great for a nature ramble.
www.devonwildlifetrust.org

Bude Canal

The Bude canal runs close to Dunsdon, and you can walk all the way up to Tamar Lakes.
www.bude-canal-trust.co.uk

The Alpaca Park (Ashwater 11miles)

Address: Hope Farm, Beaworthy, EX21 5DL, Tel: 01409 220 216
The Alpaca Park is set in 100 acres of beautiful Devon countryside where visitors have the opportunity to observe these endearing creatures up close and personal. Watch as they graze, laze or play together in their herds.
www.thealpacapark.com

Ruby Trail (Holsworthy 11 miles)

The Ruby Country is a beautiful, tranquil, clean, un-spoilt and undiscovered area in the heart of rural Devon. Enclosed by Dartmoor, Exmoor and the north coast of Devon and Cornwall, Ruby Country is the ideal base for a magical, relaxing visit to the West Country.
The Ruby Trail passes through many villages and hamlets surrounding the market towns of Holsworthy and Hatherleigh, much via the old disused railway line, closed by Dr Beeching.
www.ridetherubycountry.co.uk

Tamar Lakes (Bradworthy 2 ½ miles)

The Upper Tamar with brand new watersports centre offers sailing, windsurfing and kayaking for individuals, families and groups. With a café facility on site, and popular 3 mile lake walk.
At the Lower Tamar you will find a much smaller lake with easy going footpaths. The Lower Lake is predominantly managed as a nature reserve as it is popular with many wildfowl. There is a bird hide open to all and several picnic tables.
www.swlakestrust.org.uk

Cookworthy Forest (Holsworthy 11miles)

Cookworthy Forest is an impressive conifer plantation in the gentle hills of West Devon, between Okehampton and Bude. With access to the Ruby Trail. This is an ideal location for walking and exploring. It also has a rather impressive round house.
www.forestry.gov.uk

The Big Sheep (Bideford 23 miles)

The Big Sheep The BIG Sheep is one of North Devon's top attractions. Highlights include; Sheep Racing, Animatronic live Chicken Show, Horse Whispering, Ewetopia Indoor Playground, Battlefield Live, Mountain Boarding, and much more! Good idea if you're after things to do in Devon.
www.thebigsheep.co.uk

New Mills Farm Park (Launceston 21 miles)

New Mills Farm Park great value, basic, FUN day out, for all the family, especially for toddlers and younger children. The only farm park where you can come by car or steam train! (Steam railway is a separate company - their own charges apply). With animals to see, and both indoor and outdoor activities.
www.newmillsfarmpark.com

“Dunsdon Farm is a great location for things to do in North Devon, days out in North Devon,and walks in North Devon”
Sharon and Steve Hampton June 2015.